Grudges / Forgiveness

How Forgiveness Free Us from Resentment

Build authentic connection in a world craving love

Luminary Voice Media
4 min readAug 1, 2024

--

Photo by Cathal Mac an Bheatha on Unsplash

I recently asked myself a question that had been weighing heavily on my mind: “Is forgiveness ever truly out of reach?

As you can imagine, the responses I received varied greatly. Some were steeped in bitterness, others in profound wisdom.

I never judged anyone for sharing their thoughts, no matter what they believed.

One thing I’ve learned is that you can’t predict how someone will react in a tough situation. A calm and forgiving person might get angry when tested, while a harsh person might show kindness.

I know it’s hard to let go of our grudges. Many of us struggle even with small annoyances.

I’ve often wondered if I could forgive people who’ve hurt me, especially when they’ve been really mean. But I still aim for forgiveness.

“To err is human; to forgive, divine.”

So, I wonder why so many people feel justified in holding onto grudges.

Doesn’t it make us prisoners of our own resentment?

Doesn’t it add more negativity to an already troubled world?

--

--

Luminary Voice Media

We are sharing thought-provoking stories and essays designed to inspire personal growth and self-reflection.